46. A Stillness was Born Yesterday… and with that, Happy Holidays!

BLOG 46: December, 1998—“A stillness was born yesterday, wanting everyday more,” I wrote as Christmas approached in my parent’s small home in New Jersey. I continued to write my novel, and search for that place within that struggled to show her face while trying to walk again.

“Where are you going with all this time on your hands?” I asked that part of myself that knew how to be still. “Inside,” it said. “Inside.”

 “And what do you do inside?” I asked.

“I listen. I listen.”

“To what?”

“To myself. To myself,” it said.

“And what do you have to say to yourself?”

“Nothing,” it said. “Nothing.”

“Then why listen to nothing?”

Because I got tired of listening to everything else that did not matter.”

“And why did nothing else matter?” I asked.

“Because it did not know how to feel.”

“So your nothing you listen to are your feelings?” I asked.

“Yes, but only the ones that do not need to speak.”

“Why those?”

“Because they are true. They are happy,” it responded. “Because they know the way home.”

80bf4541fb8d77d2cfd294a0952726aeAlmost 20 years later, I am here again—visiting family in Virginia for this year’s Christmas. But this time I feel an innate happiness with family that comes from being home inside myself…and home with my parents, my Tia Ingrid visiting from Argentina, and my sisters and their families. We are all different (that’s for sure!), but I feel comfortable in my own skin and full in my heart.

It is particularly a special time to come together, given that my father has had many health issues, and my aunt Ingrid is here from Argentina, and all my sisters and their children will be here. There’s no time to waste, since we only have now to count on.

It’s been a delicious time, yet I feel for one of my younger family members who was not able to make it this year. They too are walking that fragile place of becoming comfortable in their own skin, and feeling safe in this world to share that place with others here. I too held back for many years, learning to be comfortable with myself, with who I really was, and not that person others expected me to be. It took time, and strength, and maybe because I was immobile for years…slowing down enough to find that voice, the one that wrote to me almost 20 years ago, wanting me to feel and to love myself in all my difference.

*Make Child of Duende: A Journey of the Spirit a gift for the holidays! Check it out on Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Child-Duende-Journey-Michelle-Adam/dp/099724710X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1474233011&sr=8-1&keywords=child+of+duende  or at www.michelleadam.net

2 thoughts on “46. A Stillness was Born Yesterday… and with that, Happy Holidays!

  1. Querida Michelle, Me emocionan tus mensajes , cada uno de ellos !Que estés pasando estas Fiestas con tu familia y que lo disfrutes plenamente , me dá mucha alegría ! Sé que nuestro querido Luli, sufrió mucho , pero estoy segura que en algún momento lo tendremos nuevamente en Bs As, la verdad es que lo extrañamos !! Les deseamos a toda la gran familia una muy “Feliz Navidad” y un Feliz Año Nuevo !! Con mucho cariño , abrazo, Herbert, besos, Loly

    Enviado desde mi iPad

    El 22 dic 2016, a las 7:49 p.m., Michelle Adam <comment-reply@wordpress.com> escribió:

    Michelle Adam posted: “BLOG 46: December, 1998—“A stillness was born yesterday, wanting everyday more,” I wrote as Christmas approached in my parent’s small home in New Jersey. I continued to write my novel, and search for that place within that struggled to show her face while”

    Like

    • Gracias, thank you, Loly, for your sweet words and reaching out. Es tan lindo estar con familia (it is so nice to be with family). Vosotros sois parte de nuestra familia tambien. You are both part of our family also. I hope, during these times of so much polarization, we can stay true to what really matters…honoring life, each other, and our sacred journey on this earth.

      Abrazos…hugs,

      Michelle

      Like

Leave a Reply

